Youth Theatre Program

syt logo web

About Stagecrafters Youth Theatre (SYT)

Stagecrafters is committed to creating and nurturing opportunities for young people and their families through its Youth Theatre (SYT). SYT performs live theatrical plays by youth for youth with the goal of fostering teamwork, self-esteem and an enthusiasm for the arts.  Youth between the ages of 8 and 18 may join SYT.

SYT is designed to empower young people by providing the opportunity to learn all aspects of theatrical productions including:

• Acting • Lights  •  Sound  • Costume  • Choreography
• Hair & Makeup Design • Props
• Set construction • Set painting • Set design & set dress
• Stage managing • Producing and directing
• Play selection • Publicity • Technical direction
• Audition Organization • Music Direction

The entire production process teaches some very important life skill such as teamwork, cooperation, timing, communicating, listening, flexibility, leadership and, most importantly, that hard work can be fun!

Also part of the program are two annual one-day workshops which cover a variety of theatrical subjects from onstage to backstage. To encourage youth to attend our productions, youth members are also able to buy one half-price ticket to each show in our season (for their own attendance). A one-year membership in SYT is $25 per youth.

For more information about our Youth Theatre program, please contact us at

Youth Theatre membership form


SYT Workshops

Click below on Learn More to find out about the next set of SYT workshops coming up on April 13th.

Learn More

2018-19 SYT Shows

Beauty and the Beast Jr: July 13 - 22, 2018  |  musical  |  Directed by Jody Florkowski

Dorothy in Wonderland: October 25 - 28, 2018  |  comedy|  Directed by Debbie Landis-Sigler

Learn More

SYT Newsletters

SYT News - November 2018

SYT News - August 2018

Some History Behind SYT

Jeffrey Seller
talks about Stagecrafters

JEFFREY from Sean McCourt on Vimeo.


DeRita / McNie SYT Scholarship

The DeRita/McNie SYT Scholarship is awarded each year to one or more graduating seniors who have been actively involved in Stagecrafters Youth Theatre (SYT) program. The scholarship is named in memory of two former SYT members, Jennifer DeRita and Danny McNie, who loved theatre and all it entails. Scholarship recipients embody the same spirit of dedication and enthusiasm that Jenny and Danny had for theatre.

Youth theatre members earn scholarship points based on their participation in productions as cast, tech crew or other supporting roles, as well as by volunteering for special projects at the theatre. Productions may include SYT, Main Stage, or 2nd Stage shows. Special projects may include working as a Stagecrafters volunteer at events such as Spooktacular, Arts Beats and Eats and Visits with Santa. Points are awarded for each role/activity. (Some age restrictions apply in certain categories.)

Scholarship Requirements. A minimum of 300 points is required for scholarship consideration. Interested applicants must submit the completed scholarship forms by April 1st of the given year. The deadline is set and publicized by the SYT committee, and is strictly enforced.

Detailed Scholarship Information

download s

DeRita/McNie SYT Scholarship Application

download s

Scholarship Points Submission Form

download s

We invite you to make a donation to this fund by contacting Stagecrafters at 248-541-8027 or by clicking on the button below. Contributions by check or credit card are tax deductible. Please consult your tax advisor for more information.

donatenow s

List of Past Scholarship Recipients:

2017-18: Elena Ochoa
Regan Castle, Sofie Gerstler, Emily Lourim, Emily Muench, Kailyn Riebe
Brendan Battle, Kristen Hansen, Matt Harmon, Ryan Hurley
2014-15: Kendra Barnowski, Elaina Ciccone, Rachel Keteyian, Danielle Muench, Jake Zelinski
2013-14: Cecilia Bala, Carolyn Janney, Christiana Perrault
2012-13: Aaron Keteyian
2011-12: Mitch Aiello, Anna Marck, Maria Ochoa, Kristen Zublick
2010-11: Joe Cavanaugh, Shelby Maurice, Anna Seibert, Aubrey Thompson
2009-10: Erinn Gustafson
2008-09: Mackenzie Gibson, Blair Steen
2007-08: Elyse Moon, Nick Yocum
2006-07: Kim Hunter, Kate Sikora
2005-06: Brittany Wilson, Lauren Wilson
2004-05: Kevin Scolin
2003-04: Sean Grier